Liverpool Century is a cycling club based in The Hub building at Knowsley Sports Centre.

With instant access to The Track and almost a Century of cycling behind us we are sure we can help you develop into whatever cyclist you want to be, from a quiet Sunday run to competitive racer, we cater for all.

New members can come down to the clubrooms and meet us to get a feel for the club.

All you need to get started is to fill in this form



Annual General Meeting – change of date

Please note:- the Annual General Meeting is now being held on Monday 12th January 2015. This replaces the earlier notice that the meeting was to be held on 22/12/14.
Any amendments, new rules and rule changes for inclusion in the agenda must be sent to me via post, PM facebbok or email to arrive no later than 31st December 2014. All amendments, rule changes must be worded in the form in which you wish the rule or change to be included in the rule book. For rule changes you must include the rule number you are amending. The rule changes/amendments will not be included in the agenda unles they comply with the above.

There will not be an Ordinary Monthly Meeting in December 2014 and the January 2015 OMM will immediately precede the AGM

Mick L
LCRC General Secretary

Stadt Moors NWCCA Round 10

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Clogged up rear mechs would become a familiar sight on Sunday, with a few bikes being damaged or just unable to change gear. Stadt Moors is one of the ‘roadie’ friendly courses with less technical skills needed and more brute force to carry you over the mud and grass.

The Century are getting a great group going in all the categories, with all of us competing well, fighting our own battles against familiar foes (friends really).

Johnny Mac made an appearance and claimed 2nd in the Senior race, with only a couple of weeks under his belt.

Results aren’t known for now but I’ll update them as soon as they are published.

With only 3 races left it’s all to play for, leaving it wide open for snatching a place or two.

George Darlington Memorial Ride

Hi All, meet up at track gates at 9:00 this coming Sunday OR entrance of the old Mersey Tunnel at 9:45 for our annual ride in memory of George.

The ride will take us out through the Tunnel and the Wirral for a café stop at the Two Mills(Eureka) at about 11:15.

The route back home will be via Upton near Chester, Mickle Trafford then around the back of Helsby and Frodsham before heading over The Runcorn Bridge .Back to club about 2:30 to 3:00 ish. 

Pace will be about steady  15mph with distance total aprox 60 miles.

Last year we did a charity collection on this ride with the money collected -approx. £100-going to the Myeloma Research (the disease from which George died).

This year ,following Andy Gibson’s passing , it would be great if we could make donations  to support SOBS, which is a charity that works with those bereaved by suicide .

I’ll happily collect  donations at ‘The Mills’ and then pass them on to Rebecca.

Hope to see you on Sunday

Best Wishes


Club Hill Climb

The club hill climb will be held on the 19th of October at 10.30am.

The course is the Ridgeway, it is situated off the A56 up the B5393 Tarvin Road.

If you turn left up the B5393 it is the first main left turn. The course is 8/10ths of a mile long starting opposite Burrows Lane and finishing 50yds short of the junction with Commonside.

Please be early as you have to sign on and put a number on. The CTT levy of £2 pounds is required when signing on. Meet at The Hub at 9am if you want to ride out to the event.

Yours Ray + Rob

Manchester Wheelers Cyclo-Cross NW3

Results The Lazer North West Cyclo Cross League
Race: Manchester Wheelers Cyclo-Cross NW3
Date 5-Oct-14

Mick Style’s (Manchester Wheelers) course was one that contained all elements that you’d expect to find at cross event. It tested rider skill and physical ability with it’s long drags and tight technical elements. 2 Century members rode their first race and on the face of it appeared to enjoy it, I’m sure inner demons where asking the usual question during the race ‘why am I doing this?’

11 riders in one event, fantastic turn out. Plenty of cross action left this year if you fancy it!!

Cat: Youth (B)

20 Brendan Thompson Liverpool Century RC U16B

Cat: U12 (Go-Cross)

4 Niamha Albones Liverpool Century RC U12G
(First girl)

Cat: Women / Vets (B)

20 Michael Fugaccia
24 Ian Kendall
78 Peter Leadbeater
104 Peter Albones (First race)
112 Graeme Fugaccia
117 Les Allen (First race)

Cat: Sen / Jnr (B)
15 Justin Finn (Only rider to bunny hop the planks on the hill…class act)
49 Kevin McCann (Great ride for first season back after a long time off)
65 Geraint Parry

Club Cluster of Training sessions at Litherland

Hi All,


Just a quick update in regards to the winter Club Cluster of Training sessions at Litherland. The sessions will be priced at £5 per session and will bePAY ON THE NIGHT ONLY. The sessions will start on the 14th October 7-9pm and will run for 20 weeks in the lead up to the 2015 road season. The CCT sessions are for Youth A and B category racing cyclists (please contact event organiser for availability for junior riders and high performing C’s going into B on 1/1/15).


The CCT’s will have a similar format to last year’s sessions and will have a primary fitness focus for the evening and will culminate in progressive training exercises driven by challenging the physical and technical demands of racing cyclists. Riders should have a suitable roadworthy bike and have experience at riding in groups including a chain gang. All riders must have fully working front & back bike lights to attend these sessions.


The CCT sessions are a great opportunity for riders to maintain and improve their fitness and technique over the winter months. The North West is leading the way with these sessions and club support is vital in making them a success. I would like to encourage club coaches to attend these sessions to support and pass on their expertise in developing a strong racing focus coaching session. After the circuit costs have been met there should be a small amount of surplus income to reimburse club coaches for travelling costs.


Please forward this message onto: club riders, club websites, Facebook pages, Twitter feeds, other parents who may not be the in the communication network of this group. More information on these sessions can also be found on the British Cycling website.


If you need any further information then please do not hesitate to contact myself on the below details and I hope to see many of you on the 14thOctober at Litherland.


Phil Ball – Litherland Session – or  07712324801


Many thanks




Phil Ball
Go-Ride Coach: Knowsley | British Cycling

British Cycling, National Cycling Centre, Stuart Street, Manchester, M11 4DQ

Email:    |  +44 0161 274 2000  |    07712324801

Geoff Bewley Cyclocross Help

On the 15th November the club will be holding the annual Geoff Bewley Memorial Cyclocross race at Otterspool Park in South Liverpool.

The event requires the course to be built up from 7am and taken down at around 2-3pm (whenever the final race finishes).

There is a requirement to help with the following jobs;

  • Sign on
  • Marshalling
  • Building the course
  • Dismantling the course

If you are available to help please email

Thanks in advance

Link to event page on BC below